tribal

The RCAAQ has identified urban Indigenous health as a priority area of intervention that will improve quality of life for Indigenous people living in cities. It has been shown time and again that Indigenous people’s past trauma, including the residential schools, is a major and systemic barrier to accessing public services. This is especially the case for health and social services.

 The Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada  highlighted how the consequences of survivors’ residential-school trauma continues to be felt in following generations. These scars have a major impact on Indigenous health, displaying particularly as self-destructive behaviours. For example, the Indigenous suicide rate is threefold that of other Canadians, while for the Inuit specifically, it is between 6 and 11 times higher. Self-destruction also manifests as addictions, chronic illness (e.g. diabetes) and other social issues (fetal alcohol syndrome, homelessness, etc.).

In its preliminary report Labour Market Conditions for First Nations and Inuit in Québec, the First Nations and Inuit Labour Market Committee (FNILMAC) states that in 2015 about 50% of survey respondents reported emotional and relational difficulties.

OUR ACTIONS

To reduce socioeconomic gaps between Indigenous and non-Indigenous populations, the RCAAQ works with stakeholders to develop service complementarity between the Native Friendship Centres and the public healthcare and social service system.

Our culturally relevant and safe approach takes the form of local initiatives. These provide urban Indigenous residents with better access to health and social services and they reduce Indigenous social inequalities as compared to other Quebecers and Canadians.

The RCAAQ and the Quebec Native Friendship Centre Movement positively influence health determinants. The individual and collective actions of their programs, services and activities reduce the factors of vulnerability of Indigenous people living in cities.

The RCAAQ guides its member Centres in developing new, structuring and innovative initiatives for healing that strengthen the four dimensions of the Indigenous Medicine Wheel and Indigenous people’s holistic health. These programs are in response to the TRC’s Calls to Action.

The range of health and social services offered in member Centres aim to reduce the gaps in social determinants of health while also aiming to offer services in culturally safe spaces free of racism and discrimination.

These actions contribute to fighting poverty and social exclusion, strengthening cultural safety and identity, and promoting health.

tribal
LOCAL HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES

The ways local health and social services are provided at the Minowé Clinic in Val-d’Or and at the Acokan Clinic in La Tuque provide greater fluidity in access to services for the Indigenous people in these cities.

Between 2011 and 2016, in justthe Minowé Clinic, 3,200 interventions were provided for 650 Indigenous people. The result in Val-d’Or alone was a lowered rate of reporting and placement of children in foster care by a whopping 40%.

 

 

To learn more about local health and social services:
Clinique Minowé, Val-d’Or

Clinique Acokan, La Tuque

Contact

Amélie Lainé

Director of Operations

amelie.laine@rcaaq.info Poste : 223

Follow Us
on social media

tribal

La santé globale des Autochtones dans les villes est un domaine d’intervention prioritaire que le RCAAQ a identifié pour améliorer la qualité de vie générale des Autochtones dans les villes. Il a été démontré à plusieurs reprises que les traumatismes historiques vécus par les Autochtones, tels que les pensionnats indiens, représentent une barrière systémique importante pour l’accès aux services publics et spécialement, en matière de santé et services sociaux.

La Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada a statué que les séquelles liées aux traumatismes des pensionnats pour les survivants sont malheureusement transmis à leur descendance. Ceux-ci ont des impacts importants sur la santé globale des Autochtones, notamment l’autodestruction par un taux de suicide deux fois plus élevé chez les Autochtones (entre six et onze fois plus chez les Inuit) que les autres Canadiens. L’autodestruction s’est aussi traduite par les dépendances, les maladies chroniques (diabète) et d’autres problématiques sociales (alcoolisme fœtale, itinérance, etc.).

Par ailleurs, le Comité consultatif des Premières Nations et des Inuit relatif au marché du travail (CCPNIMT) fait état dans son rapport préliminaire L’état du marché du travail au Québec pour les Premières Nations et les Inuit en 2015 qu’environ 50 % des répondants de leur enquête ont révélés des difficultés émotionnelles et relationnelles.

NOS ACTIONS

Le RCAAQ travaille conjointement avec les acteurs du milieu de la santé et des services sociaux pour développer une complémentarité de services entre les Centres d’amitié autochtones et le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux et ce, afin de réduire les écarts socioéconomiques entre les Autochtones et les allochtones.

Notre approche culturellement pertinente et sécurisante se traduit par des initiatives locales qui permettent aux Autochtones dans les villes, d’avoir un meilleur accès aux services de santé et services sociaux tout en réduisant les inégalités sociales par rapport à la situation globale des autres québécois et canadiens.

Par son action individuelle et collective, le RCAAQ et le Mouvement des Centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec agissent positivement sur les déterminants de la santé en développant des programmes, des services et des activités qui visent à diminuer les facteurs de vulnérabilités chez les Autochtones qui habitent dans les villes.

Le RCAAQ accompagne les Centres d’amitié affiliés pour développer des nouvelles initiatives structurantes et innovatrices pour des programmes de guérison qui renforceront les quatre dimensions du cercle de la médecine autochtone et la santé holistique des Autochtones. Ces programmes répondront à un appel à l’action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

La gamme de services en santé et services sociaux offerte dans les Centres d’amitié affiliés vise une réduction des écarts face aux déterminants sociaux de la santé tout en poursuivant l’objectif d’offrir des services dans des espaces culturellement sécurisants et exempts de racisme et discrimination.

Ces actions s’inscrivent dans la lutte à la pauvreté et à l’exclusion, au renforcement de la sécurité et de l’identité culturelle, tout en assurant la promotion de la santé.

tribal

SERVICES DE PROXIMITÉ EN SANTÉ ET SERVICES SOCIAUX

Les modèles en déploiement de services de proximité en santé et services sociaux, que sont Minowé, situé à Val-d’Or et Acokan, à La Tuque, permettent une meilleure fluidité dans l’accès aux services de santé pour les Autochtones dans ces villes.

À elle seule, Minowé a permis 3 200 interventions auprès de 650 personnes autochtones entre 2011 et 2016 et a eu pour impact une baisse considérable de 40 % du taux de signalement et de placement d’enfants à Val-d’Or seulement.

 

 

Pour en apprendre plus sur les services de proximité:
Clinique Minowé, Val-d’Or

Clinique Acokan, La Tuque

Contact

Jacinthe Poulin

Conseillère en santé et services sociaux

jacinthe.poulin@rcaaq.info Poste : 233

Suivez-nous
sur les médias sociaux