Mission

tribal

The RCAAQ advocates for the rights and interests of Indigenous citizens in cities and actively supports the development of Native Friendship Centres. These hubs gather Indigenous people in urban areas, offer culturally relevant services and contribute to harmony between peoples by promoting Indigenous cultures.

Vision

tribal

The RCAAQ is a leader in the urban aboriginal civil society. Renown for our expertise and vitality, we contribute to the development of relevant public policies.

The RCAAQ represents, consults, and supports the development of a dynamic Native Friendship Centre Movement, based on cooperation, openness, pride, proximity human relations, and respect.

Values

tribal
  • Integrity

    Integrity is being sure to have all the relevant information in order to act in an informed, meticulous and consistent manner in keeping with our values and cultures.

  • Equity

    Equity is the ability to act in a fair and impartial manner to adequately meet the Movement’s needs.

  • Involvement

    Involvement is conviction and dedication to the mission.

  • Solidarity

    Solidarity is placing collective interests above individual ones to develop the Movement in a spirit of collaboration, mutual aid and friendship.

  • Respect

    Respect is expressing empathy and transparency in our professional relationships.

  • Pride

    Pride is positively associating with the Movement and projecting a worthy and empowering image.

The Regroupement des centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec represents
11 Native Friendship Centres.

Background

Native Friendship Centres are urban service hubs as well as a gathering place and a cultural anchoring space for Indigenous people. Fighting for the rights and defending the interests of Indigenous people, Native Friendship Centres work tirelessly each day to promote greater understanding of the issues, challenges and problems urban Indigenous people face while favouring harmonious cohabitation in their living environment.

The Native Friendship Centre Movement was launched in Quebec nearly 50 years ago. After the first Native Friendship Centre opened in Chibougamau in 1969, several others followed in the 1970s. These were in cities that were already meeting points for Indigenous citizens, who travelled there to access the services and, in some instances, settle there permanently. 

In 1976, the Regroupement des centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec (RCAAQ) was founded by and for urban Indigenous people who wanted a provincial structure for consultation, coordination and representation.

In Quebec, the Movement underwent a second phase of development in the 2000s and early 2010s. The various local mobilizations demonstrated the need for a space that fostered a sense of belonging and invited cultural expression while providing access to relevant and culturally safe services.

In 2008, the RCAAQ, in collaboration with the Native Friendship Centres, brought together the story of the efforts and successes of the Friendship Centre Movement in a retrospective work from 1969 to 2008. Pashkabigoni, a History Full of Promise highlights the progress made since the opening of the first Native Friendship Centre in the province of Quebec.

In 2015, new local mobilizations in Maniwaki and Roberval, two cities with a significant Indigenous population and growing needs, called on the RCAAQ to support the emergence of Native Friendship Centres. The mobilizations were supported by neighbouring First Nations communities: Kitigan Zibi and the Algonquin Anishinabeg Nation Tribal Council for Maniwaki and the Mashteuiatsh and Opitciwan communities for the city of Roberval.

In 2018, in response to the growing needs of the Indigenous population in Trois-Rivières, the city’s point of service, which was a satellite of the Centre d’amitié autochtone de La Tuque, established its own Native Friendship Centre. The Centre d’amitié autochtone de Trois-Rivières thus joined the RCAAQ as a member centre.

As of this same year, a new service centre joined the RCAAQ. Indeed, the Centre multi-services MAMUK, located in Charlesbourg in Quebec City and associated with the Maison communautaire Missinak, also became a member centre of the RCAAQ.

In 2018, the RCAAQ represents 11 Native Friendship Centres.

In Quebec, the Native Friendship Centre Movement is powered by more than 150 staff members, most of whom are Indigenous people and women. The Friendship Centres rely on over a hundred volunteers and serve thousands of First Nations people.

ligne du temps des centres

Native Friendship Centres in Canada

The Native Friendship Centre Movement has been underway in Canada for over 60 years. Made up of 119 Native Friendship Centres, six provincial and territorial organizations and a National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC), it is the largest service infrastructure for Indigenous people in Canadian cities. The Friendship Centres share a mission: to improve quality of life for Indigenous citizens living in or passing through urban areas. These multiservice centres in urban areas aim to include all Indigenous people, whether First Nations, Métis or Inuit members. They uphold an “open door” policy that does not discriminate based on status, nation or place of residence.
We are Indigenous and democratic community organizations that work in a spirit of complementarity with First Nations communities and their partners. The Movement’s strength rests on our democratic bodies, which enable all Indigenous citizens to express their aspirations, take part in the Centres’ decision-making process by serving on our boards of directors and attending annual general assemblies, and draw on their experience as service users to make improvements to the services to better meet their needs. Our management and governance structures are oriented toward Indigenous citizens.

Mission

tribal

Le RCAAQ milite pour les droits et intérêts des citoyens autochtones dans les villes et soutient activement le développement des Centres d’amitié autochtones qui rassemblent en milieu urbain les Autochtones, leur offrent des services pertinents et contribuent à l’harmonie entre les peuples en valorisant les cultures autochtones.

Valeurs

tribal
  • Intégrité

    L’intégrité c’est de s’assurer d’être à l’affût de toute information pertinente pour agir de façon éclairée et rigoureuse afin de poser des actions réfléchies et cohérentes en liens avec nos valeurs et nos cultures.

  • Équité

    L’équité est la capacité d’agir de façon juste et impartiale afin de répondre adéquatement aux besoins du Mouvement.

  • Engagement

    L’engagement se traduit par une conviction et une implication à la réalisation de la mission.

  • Solidarité

    La solidarité se manifeste par la primauté des intérêts collectifs sur les intérêts individuels dans une approche de collaboration, d’entraide et d’amitié pour le développement du Mouvement.

  • Respect

    Le respect s’exprime par une attitude empathique dans une relation professionnelle et transparente.

  • Fierté

    La fierté consiste à afficher positivement l’appartenance au Mouvement et en véhiculer une image digne et valorisante.

Le Regroupement des centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec représente
11 Centres d’amitié autochtones.

Historique

Les Centres d’amitié autochtones sont des carrefours de services urbains, un milieu de vie et un ancrage culturel pour les Autochtones. Militant pour les droits et défendant les intérêts des Autochtones, les Centres d’amitié autochtones travaillent quotidiennement à favoriser une meilleure compréhension des enjeux, défis et problématiques des Autochtones citadins tout en favorisant la cohabitation harmonieuse dans leur milieu.

Le Mouvement des Centres d’amitié autochtones est établi au Québec depuis près de 50 ans. Suite à l’ouverture du premier Centre d’amitié à Chibougamau en 1969, plusieurs Centres d’amitié ont vu le jour au cours des années 1970 au sein de villes qui étaient déjà des carrefours de rencontre pour les citoyens autochtones qui y convergeaient pour avoir accès à des services et s’y installaient de façon permanente.

En 1976, le Regroupement des centres d’amitié autochtones du Québec a été fondé pour et par les Autochtones urbains qui désiraient se doter d’une structure provinciale de concertation, de coordination et de représentation.

Le Mouvement des Centres d’amitié au Québec a connu une deuxième phase de développement au cours des années 2000 et début 2010. Ces différentes mobilisations locales ont démontré le besoin d’avoir un lieu d’appartenance et d’expression pour les cultures autochtones ainsi que l’accès à des services culturellement pertinents et sécurisants.

Au cours de l’année 2015, le RCAAQ a été interpellé par de nouvelles mobilisations locales dans les villes de Maniwaki et Roberval afin de soutenir l’émergence de Centres d’amitié autochtones. Ces deux villes sont caractérisées par une population autochtone importante et des besoins grandissants. Ces mobilisations ont été  appuyées par les communautés Premières Nations avoisinantes, soient Kitigan Zibi et le Conseil Tribal de la Nation Algonquine Anishnabeg pour la ville de Maniwaki et les communautés de Mashteuiatsh et Obedjiwan pour la ville de Roberval.

En 2018, en raison d’une évolution des besoins de la population autochtone vivant à Trois-Rivières, le Point de services, qui était une antenne liée au Centre d’amitié autochtone de La Tuque, devient un Centre d’amitié autochtone. Le Centre d’amitié autochtone de Trois-Rivières rejoint ainsi le RCAAQ à titre de centre affilié.

Durant cette même année, un nouveau centre de services se joint au RCAAQ. En effet, le Centre multi-services MAMUK, situé sur l’arrondissement Charlesbourg à Québec et associé à la Maison communautaire Missinak, est devenu un membre affilié au RCAAQ.

En 2018, le RCAAQ compte 11 Centres d’amitié autochtones qui y sont affiliés.

Au Québec, le Mouvement des Centres d’amitié autochtones compte plus de 150 employés, dont une majorité d’Autochtones et de femmes. Les Centres d’amitié mobilisent plus d’une centaine de bénévoles et desservent des milliers de personnes issues des Premiers Peuples.

ligne du temps des centres
?>

Les Centres d’amitié autochtones au Canada

Le Mouvement des Centres d’amitié autochtones est implanté au Canada depuis plus de 60 ans. Composé de 119 Centres d’amitié autochtones, de 6 associations provinciales et territoriales et d’une Association nationale des centres d’amitié (ANCA), il s’agit de la plus grande infrastructure de services pour les Autochtones dans les villes au Canada.Les Centres d’amitié autochtones partagent une mission commune, c’est-à-dire l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des citoyens autochtones vivant ou transitant en milieu urbain. Ce sont des centres multiservices situés en milieu urbain qui s’adressent à une clientèle autochtone, soit aux membres des Premières Nations, aux Métis et aux Inuit, tout en privilégiant une politique « portes ouvertes », sans égard au statut, à la nation d’appartenance ou au lieu de résidence.

Nous sommes des organisations communautaires autochtones et démocratiques qui œuvrent dans un esprit de complémentarité avec les communautés de Premières Nations ainsi que les partenaires de leurs milieux.La force de notre Mouvement repose sur nos instances démocratiques qui permettent à tous les citoyens autochtones d’exprimer leurs aspirations, de participer au processus de prise de décisions pour la réalisation des objectifs en siégeant sur nos conseils d’administration et en participant aux assemblées générales annuelles ainsi que de prendre en compte leur expérience comme usagers des services afin de les améliorer pour qu’ils répondent à leurs besoins. Nos structures de gestion et de gouvernance sont orientées vers les citoyens autochtones.